"Abstinence laws consider that meat comes only from animals such as chickens, cows, sheep or pigs --- all of which live on land. Birds are also considered meat. Abstinence does not include meat juices and liquid foods made from meat. Thus, such foods as chicken broth, consomme, soups cooked or flavored with meat, meat gravies or sauces, as well as seasonings or condiments made from animal fat are technically not forbidden. However, moral theologians have traditionally taught that we should abstain from all animal-derived products (except foods such as gelatin, butter, cheese and eggs, which do not have any meat taste). Fish are a different category of animal. Salt and freshwater species of fish, amphibians, reptiles, (cold-blooded animals) and shellfish are permitted."
Source USCCB
The Gospel, Standing on One Foot – A Homily for the 30th Sunday of the Year
-
There was an expression common among the rabbis of Jesus’ time, wherein one
rabbi would ask another a question, and request that the answer be given
whil...
5 days ago


No comments:
Post a Comment